
Fast facts 
• Motor vehicle crashes are the 

leading cause of death and serious 
injury for children age 1 to 15 
years old 

 
• 15% of children involved in car 

crashes are injured in some way 
 
• Children who are NOT buckled up 

are 3 times more likely to suffer a 
significant injury in a crash than 
children who are buckled up 

 
• Proper use of child safety seats 

reduces fatal injury by 71% for  
infants and by 54% for toddlers  
1-4 years old) in passenger cars 

 
• In Indiana, it is estimated that 

nearly 90% of all child safety seats 
are installed improperly! 
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If you have any questions or 
would like further information or 
assistance regarding your car 
seat, contact: 
 

Ms. Ann Gallagher 
Carmel Police Department 
3 Civic Square 
Carmel, Indiana 46032 
(317) 571-2500 
http://www.carmelpd.com 

 

Experts suggest 
that all children 
should ride in the 
back seat of passenger 
vehicles until they 
reach 13 years of age. 



Child Restraints 
 

Rear-facing Seats 
• Newborns and infants up to 

20-35 pounds 

• Babies must ride rear facing 
until one year of age AND 20 
pounds 

• Seat can NEVER be forward facing 

 

Forward-facing Seats 
• Children over one year of 

age AND between 20 and 
40 pounds 

• Face forward only 

• Most can be converted to a 
belt positioning booster af-
ter the child reaches 40 pounds 

 

Booster Seats 
• For children between 40 and 80 pounds 

• Must be used with lap and 
shoulder belts 

• Lap belt fits low and tight 
across the hips 

• Shoulder belt crosses the col-
lar bone and center of chest 

 

Seat Belt 
• Age 8 or older or over 80 pounds 

• Must be in the back seat unless exempt 

• NHTSA recommends all children 12 and 
under should be in the backseat 

According To Indiana’s 
Child Restraint Law... 

 

Children under 8 years old must be 
buckled up in child restraints that meet 
or exceed federal safety standards 
(look for the label on the seat) when 
riding in a motor vehicle. Children ages 
8 to 16 must either be in a child  
restraint or a safety belt. This applies to 
all vehicles including trucks and SUV’s. 
This law also applies to all seating  
positions 
 

 

Keeping Children safe is 
an investment in their 
lives and in the future  
of our world.  
  

With Education, resources 
and better laws to  
protect our children, we 
can make a difference. 

Child safety seat installations are  
available each Wednesday morning and 
some Saturdays by appointment only. 
 

Call 317-571-2500 or  
317-571-2690 ext. 7728 (VM) 

 
for an  appointment 

The Carmel Police Department 
will help educate members of the  
community regarding all aspects 
of child safety seats in vehicles by 
use of hands-on assistance and 
training to ultimately reduce the 
number of injuries and/or fatalities 
related to traffic collisions. A  
certified child passenger safety 
technician will conduct inspections 
and instruct parents on the proper 
use and installation of their child’s 
safety seat as well as the laws 
pertaining to the ultimate safety of 
their children as passengers in a 
vehicle. Appointments can be 
made with the Carmel Police  
Department 

An Internationally Accredited Law Enforcement Agency 


